Life Cycle Of A Mosquito
tiger mosquito mosquito asian tigermucke sting 1 852

Life Cycle Of A Mosquito

The mosquito has four separate and distinct stages of its life cycle: Egg, Larva, Pupa, and Adult. Each stages can be distinguished by
its unique appearance.

Egg: Eggs are laid one at a time or attached together to form “rafts.” They float on the surface of the water.
In the case of Culex species, the eggs are stuck together in rafts of up to 200. Anophele and Aedes lay their eggs singly. Culex and Anopheles lay their eggs
on the water surface while many Aedes lay their eggs on damp soil that will be flooded by water. Most eggs hatch into larvae within 48 hours; others
might withstand harsh temperatures before hatching. Water is a necessary part of their habitat.

Larva: The larva lives in the water and comes to the surface to breathe.
Larvae molt their skins four times, growing larger after each molt. Culex and Ades Larvae have siphon tubes for breathing and hang upside down from the water surface.
Anopheles larvae do not have a siphon and lie parallel to the water surface to get a supply of oxygen through a breathing opening.
The larvae feed on microorganisms and organic matter in the water.
During the fourth molt the larva changes into a pupa.

Pupa: The pupa stage is a non-feeding stage of development, but pupae are mobile, responding to light changes and escaping with a flip of their
tails towards safe areas. This is the time the mosquito changes into an adult. This process is similar to the metamorphosis seen in butterflies.

Adult: The newly emerged adult needs to rest and wait for all their parts to dry and harde before they are able to fly. A few days later, feeding and mating starts and
a new cycle begins.


Leave a Reply